Country Universities Centre
Snowy Monaro

Expanded news




Country Universities Centre (CUC) will continue to evolve the education landscape in regional, rural and remote Australia, after securing further funding from the Federal Government today. 

Announced by the Minister for Education, Dan Tehan, the funds will go towards new and existing Country Universities Centres in Broken Hill, Cooma, Goulburn, Grafton, Griffith, Leeton, Moree, and Narrabri.

Country Universities Centre Snowy Monaro will put the funding towards technology upgrades and IT.

The non-profit Country Universities Centre provides students in regional, rural and remote communities with better access to the tools they require to excel in tertiary education.

According to CUC CEO Duncan Taylor, the organisation is revolutionising the model for tertiary education in country areas: 

“We’re really seeing some significant results in the communities where we have already established study hubs, so naturally we’re thrilled that the Federal Government is enabling us to expand this successful model.”  

CUC Snowy Monaro Chair, Carolyn Ewart stated:

“This funding means we can continue to offer our community state of the art connectivity well into the future, investing in our regions learners.’

Australian Bureau of Statistics data from 2017 shows that regional students participate half as much in tertiary education as their metropolitan counterparts.

A recent student survey revealed that 99% of CUC students felt that their Centre helped to improve their academic results.   

Those seeking study opportunities in their local regional, rural or remote areas, are encouraged to visit